Lexmark Support fail!

Here is the exchange I had with Lexmark support regarding the Lexmark Prospect 205 printer/scanner/fax/copier.
I have highlighted some text in orange to make it clearer and clipped some standard template text for the sake of brevity, but otherwise I changed nothing.  Just did a cut and paste from gmail.
Lexmark have now removed the drivers in question…  but haven’t said a word about it.

Dear Roland,

Here is your Service Request # 1-11261004232

Thank you for the information and it’s clearer this time. Going back to your concern, I tried checking it from our website again and found out that this printer doesn’t have an Ubuntu drivers so this means that it is not compatible with it. I sincerely appreciate your patience.

If you have any more questions or concerns, please contact me at your convenience and I will be happy to assist you. (If I am not available, another representative may reply to your request.)

<clipped template info>

Sincerely,

Giovanni
Lexmark eSupport Team
http://support.lexmark.com
[THREAD ID:1-568IEH4]Please rate your e-mail support experience. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Please click the link below to participate in a brief Lexmark Customer Satisfaction Survey.https://surveys.lexmark.com/survey/s?s=9972
**********Original Message**********
I can understand why we have missed each other.  In the original thread I
referred to a “Lexmark Prospect 205 Scanner/Fax/Printer” which is what I
have.  That model definitely has a driver on your website and it works as I
said before. Does that make it clearer?
On Thu, Feb 14, 2013 at 9:18 AM, Lexmark Support <support3@lexmark.com>wrote:>
Dear Roland,
>
> Here is your Service Request # 1-11261004232
>
> We have here the P250 printer as your printer and we don’t have drivers
> for Ubuntu with this type. May I know if you really have a P250 printer?
>
> If you have any more questions or concerns, please contact me at your
> convenience and I will be happy to assist you. (If I am not available,
> another representative may reply to your request.)<clipped template info>> Sincerely,
> Giovanni
> Lexmark eSupport Team
http://support.lexmark.com
>
Eh, am I missing something here?  I think you should read my original mail
before firing off a canned response!Here is what I asked:I have installed the latest printer & scanner drivers for Ubuntu (32 bit)
from your support site on two machines.  On the one (running Ubuntu 11.10)
everything works 100%, printing & scanning over the network.  On the other
machine running Ubuntu 12.10 however I can print, but scanning produces the
error “Failed to open device ‘lexmarklegacy_1_0_0:libnet/00200075694B':
Error during devce I/O.I have also engaged some non-lexmark forum on this matter and the full
thread is available here:
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-software-2/sane-device-information-for-network-scanner-893105/page2.html#post4886245<https://rightinbox.herokuapp.com/follow/d6892e36-09e2-4015-a8cb-63a6177d3f0f/http%253A%252F%252Fwww.linuxquestions.org%252Fquestions%252Flinux-software-2%252Fsane-device-information-for-network-scanner-893105%252Fpage2.html%2523post4886245>
I posted as “lifeboy” and have provided this link so I don’t have to repeat
the volume of information I have provided there regarding my setup.To which you responded (totally unrelated and seeming not having read what I wrote!)
Here is your Service Request # 1-11261004232
>
> Thank you for contacting Lexmark. With regards to your concern, I regret
> to inform you that this printer is not compatible with Ubuntu and that you
> can’t find any drivers available from our website. I sincerely appreciate
> your patience.
>1. I *did download* the drivers from your website and you *do* support *
Ubuntu* and *Debian*.  And the printer works as well as the scanner from
one of my machines!!
2. I explicitly asked for technical help.  In the thread I referred to I
have posted extensive technical information that you should pass on the
your driver development team. The drivers where update recently with never
version, so don’t try to tell me you don’t support Ubuntu.
3. It seems that I should rather buy a printer from HP, Brother, Canon or
Epson, right?
4. Does you employer know that you’re not doing your job, by brushing off a
technical support request?I am appalled by this response. Can you please escalate this request to
your manager?thank youRoland Giesler, CEOOn Wed, Feb 13, 2013 at 10:13 AM, Lexmark Support
<support3@lexmark.com<https://rightinbox.herokuapp.com/follow/d6892e36-09e2-4015-a8cb-63a6177d3f0f/mailto%253Asupport3%2540lexmark.com>
> wrote:> Dear Roland,
>
> Here is your Service Request # 1-11261004232
>
> Thank you for contacting Lexmark. With regards to your concern, I regret
> to inform you that this printer is not compatible with Ubuntu and that you
> can’t find any drivers available from our website. I sincerely appreciate
> your patience.> If you have any more questions or concerns, please contact me at your
> convenience and I will be happy to assist you. (If I am not available,
> another representative may reply to your request.)
>
<clipped template info>
**********Original Message**********
Roland Giesler <roland@***********t> Feb 15
to Lexmark
Again I don’t understand?  When I go to the Lexmark support site and select the Prospect Pro205 printer, I get the driver plain and simple:
Here is the site URL:
Select on the Downloads tab: “Unix /Linux” and then “Ubuntu 12.04″, I get the complete list of drivers.
3 thoughts on “Lexmark Support fail!

  1. Hi, did you ever get the scanner to work. Worked find under 11.04 but not now under 12.10 ubuntu.

    1. Nope, I’m using it with a USB stick now when I need to scan… :-(

      Maybe, just maybe, Lexmark will have a change of heart and release a new fixed driver. They’re not communicating it though… pathetic and typical imho.

Leave a Reply

